Ernst-Otto Czempiel Award

In honor of its former, long-serving director Ernst-Otto Czempiel, PRIF has established an award to recognize the best post-doctoral monograph published in the field of international peace research during the previous two to three years. Each award holds a value of 5,000 Euro.

An awardee is selected by a jury comprising Prof Senghaas-Knobloch, Dr Jörn Grävingholt and Prof Dr Jonas Wolff. Inaugurated in 2008, the award ceremony takes place every two years and is conducted during PRIF’s Annual Conference. Published Ph.D. theses are excluded.

The next award ceremony will take place in 2023. This year's awardee is Roger Mac Ginty of Durham University. He is being considered for his book "'Everyday Peace: How So-Called Ordinary People Can Disrupt Violent Conflict" (Oxford University Press, 2021).


Previous awardees

2023Prof. Roger Mac Ginty, “‘Every­day Peace: How So-Called Ordi­nary People Can Disrupt Vio­lent Conflict”
2020Prof Dr Kerstin von Lingen, “‘Crimes against Humanity’: Eine Ideengeschichte der Zivilisierung von Kriegsgewalt 1864–1945”
2018Prof Dr Simon Koschut, "Normative Change and Security Community Disintegration. Undoing Peace"
2016Dr Birgit Bräuchler, "The Cultural Dimension of Peace: Decentralization and Reconciliation in Indonesia"
2014Dr Piki Ish-Shalom, "Democratic Peace. A Political Biography"
2012Prof Dr Elke Krahmann, "States, Citizens and the Privatization of Security"
2010Dr Rita Schäfer, "Frauen und Kriege in Afrika – ein Beitrag zur Genderforschung"
2008Guy Ben-Porat, "Global Liberalism, Local Populism: Peace and Conflict in Israel/Palestine and Northern Ireland"